Homemade Brown Sugar

Mmmmm, brown sugar.  Just the words conjure images of baked deliciousness.  So many recipes use this wonderful brown sweetness – from bacon to desserts to chicken.  Try to imagine your favorite chocolate chip cookies without it.  Horrifying!  But what exactly is brown sugar?  I found a couple interesting links.  One, from www.ehow.com states that it’s “made from sugar cane or sugar beets…cut and squeezed for their juice, which is boiled until it thickens to molasses.”1  It is then stripped and dried.  Foodtimeline.org is another site that always has such interesting information as well.

Like so many, I always got my sugar fix from the same place – the grocery store.  During the holidays I would literally purchase over a dozen bags for baking.  Then in 2008, while trying to dig out from under the recession avalanche, I discovered something:  a recipe for homemade brown sugar.  It HAD to be complicated, given its light, lovely texture.  I read the recipe from frugalliving.about.comOnly two ingredients?  This had to be a misprint; it was so simple.  I scoured the internet for other recipes, but they were all exactly the same.  Just two ingredients – white sugar and unsulfured molasses.  Seriously?  Surely it wouldn’t taste like the stuff I always bought. 

I was determined to prove these simplistic recipes wrong.  Going to my baking cabinet, I pulled out a bag of white sugar and a jar of Grandma’s® molasses (doesn’t everyone have this?).  Carefully, I measured out these ingredients into a mixing bowl.  Armed with only a fork, and my determination, I proceeded to follow the directions explicitly.  “Stir with a fork until completely mixed.”2  The initial attempt produced a very lightly colored, light fluffy sugar.  It didn’t fit into the image I had of the light brown sugar I had always purchased at the store.  I attempted again, this time using my food processor and adding two tablespoons of molasses.  It was slightly more golden, but still not what I was hoping to achieve.  Each time I tried this, I added one additional tablespoon, until the sugar was saturated and could not accept more.

Just recently I switched to an organic brand of molasses (sorry Grandma!)  The initial batch, using only one tablespoon of molasses, produced a beautiful medium golden color.  I never tried a second tablespoon.

Resources:

  1. http://www.ehow.com/about_5375423_history-brown-sugar.html
  2.  http://frugalliving.about.com/od/foodsavings/ht/Brown-Sugar.htm
  3. http://joythebaker.com/2010/08/how-to-make-brown-sugar/
  4. http://browniesfordinner.com/2009/11/04/make-your-own-brown-sugar/
  5. http://www.foodtimeline.org/foodcandy.html#brown

 

Homemade brown sugar

Also needed:

  • Measuring cup
  • Tablespoon measuring spoon
  • Fork
  • Mixing bowl
  • Airtight container
  • Mixer with wisk or food processor (optional)

For light brown sugar: 

In a mixing bowl, combine white sugar and 1 tablespoon molasses.

 

For dark brown sugar:

Use 2 tablespoons molasses.

Stir with a fork until combined.  The initial attempts to “combine” will produce dark molasses globs and light sugar areas.  Keep going a little while longer.  This also gives your forearms a nice workout.  Don’t forget to switch hands.   If using a mixer or food processor this will progress quickly; you will have to find another way to work out.

Soon, approximately 5 minutes if using the fork method, you will have beautiful golden brown sugar to use in your favorite recipes.

Store in an airtight container.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Brown Sugar

  1. Just the brown sugar alone looks delicious! YUM! My husband eats molasses in place of syrup so we always have that around too! Looks so fresh! I am SURE fresh ingredients make your end result taste even better too!

Leave a comment